It’s Time to Submit Your Nomination for 2018 LGBT History Month Icon

| October 3, 2017

Every year LGBT History Month celebrates the achievements of 31 lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender Icons. Each day in October, a new LGBT Icon is featured with a video, bio, bibliography, downloadable images and other resources. In 1994, Rodney Wilson, a Missouri high school teacher, believed a month should be dedicated to the celebration and teaching of gay and lesbian history, and gathered other teachers and community leaders. They selected October because public schools are in session and existing traditions, such as Coming Out Day (October 11), occur that month.

You’re invited to submit your nomination for the 2018 list of LGBT History Month Icons.

Nominated LGBT Icons may be living or dead, national or international. Selection is based on one or more of the following criteria. The nominee is:

  • Distinguished in their field of endeavor
  • A national hero
  • A significant contributor to LGBT civil rights

The deadline to submit your nomination is Friday, December 8.

CLICK HERE to view the list of 372 LGBT ICONS from 2006 to present with links to their videos, biographies, resources and downloads.

Gay and Lesbian History Month has been endorsed by GLAAD, the Human Rights Campaign, the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, the National Education Association and other national organizations. In 2006 Equality Forum assumed responsibility for providing content, promotion and resources for LGBT History Month.

The LGBT community is the only community worldwide that is not taught its history at home, in public schools or in religious institutions. LGBT History Month provides role models, builds community and makes the civil rights statement about our extraordinary national and international contributions.

2017 ICONS:
1. David Adamany, 2. Tom Ammiano, 3. Jack Baker & Michael McConnell, 4. Billy Bean, 5. Ruth Berman & Connie Kurtz, 6. Selisse Berry, 7. Charlotte Bunch, 8. Lynn Conway, 9. George Cukor, 10.Wade Davis II, 11.Brian Epstein, 12.Edythe Eyde, 13.Eric Fanning, 14.Alicia Garza, 15.Mary Douglas Glasspool, 16.Karl Gorath, 17.Lorraine Hansberry, 18.Taiga Ishikawa, 19.Caitlyn Jenner, 20.Marsha P. Johnson, 21.Alain Locke, 22.Barry Manilow, 23.Johnny Mathis, 24.Yukio Mishima, 25.Craig Rodwell, 26.Jeffrey Seller, 27.Kyrsten Sinema, 28.Peter Staley, 29.Vaughn Walker, 30.Jeffrey Weinstein, 31.Rodney Wilson.



Comments are closed.